Xero is the ledger; an expense tool is where receipts, cards and approvals happen before anything reaches it. What matters is what lands in Xero, as what kind of record, and whether anything flows back. We read the three vendors' own Xero integration pages and help articles on October 28, 2026 (Zoho Expense's price on October 27). Nothing here comes from a hands-on trial.
For whom: a US small or mid-sized business that keeps its books in Xero and wants employee spending to post there without retyping. Not for: a company on another ledger; see expense software for QuickBooks Online or NetSuite.
What each integration sends to Xero
| Ramp | Zoho Expense | Expensify | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plan required | No paid Ramp plan required, per its integration page | Not stated on the integration pages we read; paid plans start at $3 per user a month billed annually | Collect ($5 per member) or Control workspace, workspace admin, two-factor authentication on |
| What syncs | Accounting fields, transactions, reimbursements, payments, cashback, vendor bills, bill payments and credits, in real time through Ramp's API | Imports Xero accounts as categories, customers and jobs as customers and jobs, and tracking categories as tags; exports approved reports | Initial settings sync from Xero on connection |
| Reimbursable expenses | Synced as reimbursements | Exported as bills when the report is approved | Not detailed in the setup article we read |
| Card or non-reimbursable spend | Card transactions synced | Exported as bank transactions | Not detailed in the setup article we read |
| Two-way | Vendors and vendor bills sync both ways | Categories, customers, jobs and tags come from Xero | Not stated in the setup article |
Expensify's own article adds one limit: on Xero's Cashbook and Ledger account types, apps like Expensify cannot create invoices or bills through Xero's API.
Our pick
Ramp. Its integration page states that no paid Ramp plan is required, and it lists the widest set of synced records of the three, including bill payments and vendor bills in both directions. For a business that pays vendors and issues cards from the same place, that keeps Xero's payables and Ramp's in step without a second export.
- Choose Zoho Expense if what you need is employees' expense reports posted cleanly: approved reimbursable expenses become Xero bills and card spend becomes bank transactions, with paid plans published from $3 per user a month billed annually, below Expensify Collect's $5; Zoho's pages we read do not say which plan its Xero integration needs.
- Choose Expensify if your team already submits receipts in it; check your Xero account type first, given the Cashbook and Ledger limit.
Before you connect
- Clean your Xero chart of accounts and tracking categories first; Zoho Expense imports them as categories and tags.
- Decide who owns the connection. Expensify requires a workspace admin with two-factor authentication.
- Test one month of card transactions and reimbursements before switching the old process off.
Traceable evidence
Sources for this decision
- vendorRamp official product siteRamp · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: US finance teams evaluating cards, expenses, controls, and accounts payable in one operating workflow. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorZoho Expense official product siteZoho Expense · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: SMBs evaluating expense reporting and reimbursement within the Zoho business suite. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorExpensify official product siteExpensify · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Teams evaluating receipt, expense report, reimbursement, and card workflows. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorRamp and Xero integration pageRamp · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Ramp's Xero integration page as read on October 28, 2026: syncs accounting fields, transactions, reimbursements, payments, cashback, vendor bills, vendor bill payments and credits in real time through Ramp's API, with bi-directional sync for vendors and vendor bills, and lists the Ramp plan required as not required; it does not give field-level mappings.Open source ↗
- vendorZoho Expense help: how does the integration with Xero work?Zoho · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Zoho Expense's help article as read on October 28, 2026: once enabled, Xero accounts, customers, jobs and tracking categories sync into Zoho Expense as categories, customers, jobs and tags, and when a report is approved its reimbursable expenses are exported to Xero as bills and its non-reimbursable expenses as bank transactions; it does not state the plan required or the sync frequency.Open source ↗
- vendorExpensify help: connect to XeroExpensify · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Expensify's help article as read on October 28, 2026: connecting Xero requires a workspace admin on a Collect or Control workspace with two-factor authentication enabled, the connection syncs initial settings from Xero, and on Xero's Cashbook and Ledger account types apps like Expensify cannot create invoices or bills through the Xero API; it does not describe which records each expense becomes.Open source ↗
- vendorZoho Expense pricing pageZoho Expense · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Zoho Expense's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Standard plan ($3 per user/month, billed annually) and the page details recorded with it ($4 billed monthly), and a free plan (Yes, up to 3 users). It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.Open source ↗
- vendorExpensify help: understand Expensify pricingExpensify · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Expensify's help article as read on October 28, 2026: Collect at $5 per unique member a month on pay-per-use only; Control at $18 per member included in an annual subscription plus $36 per active member above it, or $36 per active member on pay-per-use; up to a 50% discount on Control with the Expensify Card, as low as $9 and $18; legacy pricing for workspaces created before April 1, 2025; the free Submit workspace excludes approvals, payments, company cards and accounting integrations. It does not describe travel booking.Open source ↗